Hertford Chairman's Gala

Saturday 9th March 2019, Stevenage Swimming Center

The Chairman's gala is always a great opportunity to ensure as many of Hertfords swimmers have the opportunity to represent the club in a local competitive gala. This event saw Erin Cavill, Lilianna Sopala, Franki Cambell, Poppy Law, Hector Newman-Smith Ross Chilton and Finn Mose competed for Herford, for the first time and it was great to see that all their hard work in training ensured they were very competitive on the night.


The gala consisted of each club, Stevenage, Letchworth & Hertford entering two teams with the scores combined from each club to decide the overall winner.

Hertford's Blue & Yellow teams swam extremely well achieving 99 PB's (Personal Bests), 25 1st, 16 2nds and 14 3rd places enabling the combined Hertford teams to win the Chairman's Cup. 

It was a very difficult decision who should receive the Hertford Teddy, which is awarded to the outstanding performance of the night, especially as there were so many great swims from our younger swimmers. The Hertford Teddy was awarded to Finn Mose. Finn has been at the club for just ovet two years but due to his age, has been unable to compete in any interclub galas so it was great to finally see him swim. Finn produce PBs in all his races with a 1st in the 25m back, 2nd in the 25m free and helped his team mates to 1st and 2nd places in relays. 


Overall it was a very successful competition for all 65 Hertford swimmers who competed on the night.


Final combined results:

Hertford 1st

Stevenage 2nd

Letchworth 3rd